A Child’s Happiness

Julia Child, that is!

“Moderation. Small helpings. Sample a little bit of everything. These are the secrets of happiness and good health.” – Julia Child

This was a conversation I was JUST having with a family member last night! I was giving advice for getting in shape – because I am SUCH a health nut…

– and I was probably rambling. Something about HIIT. Zumba. Weight training. Fish Oil. PROTEIN. But moderation is what caught this person’s attention. And in saying it, it caught mine too.

Heck, the other day, I caught myself eating 2 HEAPING spoonfuls of homemade cookie dough. It was a snow day, a special occassion, so it was OK, right? WRONG. I felt horrible all day. Not because I broke some kind of diet or am a self-punisher, but because I have been working towards being healthier and honest in every aspect of my life, and instead I lied to myself.

I tell myself on a semi-regular basis that things are “special occassions”. Mom made cookie dough? From scratch? Special Occasion. It’s Friday during Lent? Special Occasion (to eat fried fish, of course). Hockey Game? Special Occasion. Saturday? Special Occasion. All of this to give me room to pig out on the foods I most enjoy. And to be dishonest with the person I am and the person I want to become.

So, I will take Julia Child’s advice, if not my own: everything in moderation. From favorite foods (heck no I will not go on some fad diet), to fun, and even working out (don’t want to tear those muscles, do we?). Moderation. That is the key to happiness.

Or, at least one of them.

❤ The Roamin Twin

Leave a Reply

