Wiping the Slate Clean

I think pretty frequently about happiness. That is one of the main reasons I write this blog. It’s like a community happiness diary. Well, one day it might become a community happiness blog. Until then, it’s just me talking to myself. A LOT.

So, I will talk about decluttering. Again. Why? Because, let’s face it. The only people reading this are my mom, sister, boyfriend, and friend Kayla (thanks, guys!).

A friend posted a link to an article on Facebook today. Usually I scroll pretty quickly through my News Feed because I don’t care about the illustrations, memes, and “inspirational” quotes for single ladies who are independent and “don’t need no man”. This post, however, caught my eye.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/03/10/opinion/sunday/living-with-less-a-lot-less.html?pagewanted=1&_r=3&src=mv&

Living with Less. A LOT Less.

Ding Ding Ding!

Give it a read! It will tell you everything that I have been telling myself for the last 2 years that I have been living back in my parents’ home, backed with actual experience! 

This man went from living in a 3,600-square-foot home (alone) and having a turbo-charged Volvo and a personal shopper, to living in a 420-square-foot studio, sleeping in a murphy bed, with nearly no possessions.

And he is content. “My space is small. My life is big.”

He has it right. However, as much as I admire this lifestyle of his – simple, no stress, complications, or attachments to material possessions, more money to take care of his love of travel – I just can’t picture myself getting to that point. Maybe it’s a mind block of mine, but I can’t imagine getting rid of all books, CDs, DVDs, clothing, etc.

Maybe my problem is that I put a sentimental value to so much. Pictures. An old key chain collection. Dolls from my deceased relatives.

I can stand to get rid of my beanie babies. A handful of picture frames. Maybe a pair of shoes or two. But I know it will take me a LONG time to get to a state where I can just let so much go. Maybe it’s a problem. Maybe it’s just me.

Does it make me stressed, overwhelmed, unhappy to have so many possessions? Stressed and overwhelmed, a bit – I am not big on cleaning, and haven’t seen the surface of my floor for a few months at least – but not unhappy. Could I stand to lose a few pounds of material goods? YES. Will it happen? YES. To the extreme of the author of this article? Maybe.

Only time will tell.

And maybe moving out of my parents house.

Baby Steps.

❤ The Roamin Twin

One thought on “Wiping the Slate Clean

  1. Pingback: Wiping the Slate Clean | There's So Much to Smile About

Leave a Reply

