The Lottery

Do you ever think about winning the lottery? Not just dream about it, but plan for it. 

When I win [insert current PowerBall amount here], I am going to pay off my student loans, pay off my parents’ house, pay for my brother to go through college, move out of my parents’ house…

The list goes on and on. At least for me. And those actions listed above are some of my top priorities. If I won the lottery, those things would be taken care of first.

But, I must admit, I get carried away. And I PLAN for the money. Not just hoping for it. Then, I must admit, I get a little disappointed when I don’t win. Even when I don’t play. Isn’t that crazy?

Well, I just played a lottery in my own life. Not THE lottery, but a lottery that I had a better chance at winning — I thought.

I started planning on winning this lottery. Planning my future around it. My excitement escalated. A dream was going to come true. Not just because I was dreaming it, but because I was working towards it.

Then, with the snap of a finger, it was over. Planning was useless.

But dreaming is NEVER useless. Working towards a goal is NEVER pointless.

This is going to take a bit to pound into my own head, but it is necessary. I didn’t win this time, but it isn’t the only lottery.

And the more often I play, the better my odds.

 

❤ The Roamin Twin

Leave a Reply

