Habits

They say it takes 30 days to form a habit. They say it takes 30 days to break a habit. They say. They

Welp, it took me ZERO days to make a habit of working out before. Why? Because it never became a habit. I have tried pretty continuously for the past year to make it a habit. I felt strong here. Noticed the scale number dropped there. I continued my mediocre eating habits the whole time. I would try something new and would burn out within a week. Going to the gym was a chore. So was eating healthfully. Why spend so much money on food that was not even filling me up and tasted OK at best (I still don’t understand this one, but I spice it up a bit 🙂 )?

Now, here I am, day 11 of my 90 day challenge. The difference with this one is that I have mindfully chosen to better my life (not just in health, but in organization and working harder for the general life I want) and challenge myself. I also got to choose which workout regimen to follow, and browsed the eating habits of past challenge winners to find a schedule that was simple, and one that I liked best.

Only day 11, but the thought of exercise is sweet. I used to get tired thinking about it. Complain about the soreness afterwards. Throw tantrums until my boyfriend agreed we didn’t have to go to the gym. Then turned around and was in an ugly mood for the remainder of the evening because “I feel like crap that we didn’t go to the gym”.

Exercise is a necessary evil. However, you don’t have to confine yourself to the gym like every other New-Years-resolution-seeker (who stopped going to the gym by January 15th). Find things you enjoy doing. Go ice skating every Tuesday (like me!). Rock climbing. Tap dancing. Zumba-ing.

Whatever you do, just move. And move in the way you like best. No one is forcing you to get/stay in shape, have a hot bod, and spend less money on the healthcare front. Just remember: it’s YOUR decision. And maybe that thought alone will push you further.

Past the 7 day hump. And the 30 day habit-forming cycle. And the 1 year mark.

And remember that movement is necessary, but never evil.

❤ The Roamin Twin

PS – Eat the chocolate cake! Drink the wine! You move the rest of the day so that you can do that kinda stuff!

Leave a Reply

