DO SOMETHING

Today is kind of a special occasion.

Everyone should treat their birthday as such, right? It doesn’t matter if you have the means for extravagant gifts or time to go to dinner. Just celebrate, somehow, your being on this earth for another year. 

Even if all you do to celebrate is smile to yourself, dance a little to the upbeat music playing in your head, or thank the well-wishers on Facebook. Celebrate.

I have been asked multiple times today why I was at work and why I would want to go to the gym. “It’s your birthday! You should be at home relaxing!” I get that. But I got up this morning because I am able. I got up early and was able to get a TON of work done and then leave work early. I knew if I didn’t take that first step in going to work (early, even) that I wouldn’t have the self-motivation for the next portion of my day: the damn gym.

Believe it or not – I was overjoyed to get my butt there. For the first time in my life, I was looking at it as a treat. Instead of taking a break on my special day, I worked harder. And I still am. Now I have all this energy.

And I am HAPPY.

I am in one of the best moods I have been in in a very long time. And I don’t regret not taking the day off from life (don’t you LURVE double negatives?). This is my life, I am a day older – legally a year older – and I am going to live it to the fullest.

So, on your birthday – or any day for that matter – do everything you can to the greatest degree that you can. Just think: how does half-assery make you feel? Does it make you proud of yourself? Happy? Upbeat? Anything?

I am sure I have harped on this before, but as you know, this blog is also a reminder to myself. We all need reminders sometimes.

Also remember that sometimes you aren’t going to have someone holding your hand to guide you to do your best. I usually have someone at the gym with me (a HUGE motivator), but being alone was even greater because I knew that the only person I had to impress was myself. And, boy, did I take care of that.

Who knows what I will do with the rest of my day: move my bedroom furniture…clean the kitchen…go on a run…

I just have SO MUCH ENERGY!

But really, I won’t go on that run.

Ooooo LIFE! 🙂

❤ The Roamin Twin

Leave a Reply

