One Whole

As some of you know, I recently got engaged.

For the sake of this post, let’s name him Timmykins (if you ever interact with him, he would just LOVE for you to use this nickname. I promise).

Timmykins is wonderful. He is hard-working, talented, silly, and his hugs are the best. He is one of my biggest motivators, and he is very protective of me, while also being one of my biggest challenges (next to my sister, but that is another post 🙂 — a fabulous post, mind you! I love my sister!).

Was it love at first sight? No. We have known each other for 9 years.

Is he my ‘other half’? No. Arguably, that would be my sister (my identical twin sister).

Does he complete me? Nah.

And this is what I am trying to get to: I was a whole person before he came around and showed any interest in me. I wasn’t desperately seeking someone who would stop my heart ache and fill the void in my life.

You see, to say that – or even think that – would be my telling you that I couldn’t live a full life without someone else. But that is not true.

Actually, I was doing pretty damn well by myself. I went to school where I wanted to go, studied abroad, attended film festivals and was internationally acclaimed for a short film that my sister and I made. I was moving in a zig-zagged line towards all of my goals and dreams in life.

And, guess what? I still am.

Sometimes Timmykins is a distraction. Sometimes we would rather watch a movie or go ice skating than research production techniques or work on a certificate class. But he doesn’t distract me from my end goals. He is a happy distraction that also motivates me, and he adds a little color to my life.

I am elated that he has decided to keep me around, as well as share the rest of his life with me. But, could we live our lives separately? Physically, yes.

It’s just not ideal.

Do YOU feel whole on your own? What makes you feel whole, gives you purpose?

Please share, and have a Happy Day, Happy People!

❤ The Roamin Twin

4 thoughts on “One Whole

  1. congrats on the engagement!! Obviously you can check that off your list of alternative areas of your life that perhaps aren’t being fulfilled! I love how confidently you write!

    • Thank you so very much! I am still new to this blogging thing, and am not confident at all! But fake it til you make it, right? Plus, when I get on a roll, I really get on a roll! 🙂 Have a wonderful day 🙂

  2. Wow, Congratulations and my best Wishes for the two of you!!
    And what an inspiring post – how good for you to know so clearly that the lucky Timmykins isn´t the one who completes you.
    I had to think about it a little to get clear and now I´d say: for me it also doesn´t feel as if my beloved completes me (… phew, relief! I wouldn´t have liked that!) but he does help me a lot on the way to healing, growing, completing myself. And I hope I can do some of that for him, too.
    Thank you for writing about your delightful state of mind!

    • I am so grateful that you enjoyed the post! Timmykins puppy-dog-eyed me after this and said “I don’t complete you?” But he knows that if we didn’t find each other we would both be perfectly fine. It’s an added bonus to have him in my life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

