All Together Now

‘You know that I could use somebody / You know that I could use somebody / Someone like youuuuu…’

I have mentioned before that I spent a little time studying in London. It was one of the coolest experiences of my life so far, and I want to remember every detail forever. However, if I woke up in the morning and could only remember one thing from that trip, it would be a few moments on my last night in the country. In a pub/bar/club.

I steered away from these kinds of places for the majority of my time in London. Not only was I underage back in the States and felt some kind of guilt every time I did order an alcoholic beverage (I had a few drinks here and there on the trip, but didn’t go nuts), but I also didn’t travel all the way over there to see the inside of a bar day after day and night. Unlike most of my classmates, I wanted to see and soak in as much of the city and its surroundings as possible in my short stay.

Yet, after trying so hard, my most memorable moments were inside of that pub/bar/club. Just off Trafalgar Square. Couldn’t even tell you the name. Only that it was three stories high, with the pub on the bottom, bar on the second floor, and club on the top floor. And it was PACKED.

When we went inside, we slowly made our way through (my sister and a few classmates and I), stopping on each floor to decide whether we wanted to stay there or move on up. My sister and I would have been perfectly fine in the pub on the first floor. We like spaces where you can sit and talk while relaxing and enjoying a drink and some grub. Then again, we were with a group of girls that were completely decked out in club clothes and weren’t worth trying to have a conversation with (What can I say? We wanted to end our trip with a bang!). So, we all ventured up to the bar. It was apparently too early because everyone else in the space was 40 years old or older. To the third floor we went.

It looked like any other underground club. Exposed brick walls. Creaky wooden floors. A big space, really, separated only by weight-bearing beams. It had a DJ booth and stage for live acts. Tonight was a band doing covers of, well, everyone. I guess you could say they were covering the 80s, 90s, and today 🙂

They started “Use Somebody” by Kings of Leon: anthem of that summer. I knew all the words and was enjoying it like I would enjoy any live band. Until the part in the song where it sounds like the entire band is singing “Oh oh-oh, oh oh-ohhhhhhhh” (you know the part. I’m not gonna sing it for ya).

EVERYONE in the packed room sang it together at the top of their lungs. EVERYONE.

It blew my mind. Not that people would be able to sing those “words” in unison, but that it was such a beautiful moment to me. I know I sound like a huge candy ass, but it made me tear up a bit. No matter who we were, what country we were from, what language(s) we spoke, we ALL knew that part. I’m telling you: if I was a live performer, I would bawl like a big fat baby EVERY NIGHT as my fans sang my songs with me. I would have no shot in hell.

There is a point, and here it is:

No matter where you are, good or bad spot in your life, unknown country or group of people, or if you feel lost in your everyday surroundings just know that you are surrounded by people. People that love, feel, care, and people that are going/have gone through the same emotions as you. That no matter where you are in life, you belong.

Though I felt nothing like an outsider that night (heck, I want to live in the UK, so I DEFINITELY felt like an insider – even if I was forcing it), I felt like I was part of something bigger than that club. Maybe it is because it spanned all nationalities, languages, etc. 

Regardless, it was a splendid feeling.

And I haven’t felt something so powerful in terms of a community since. I am not sad for this. I am just happy that I got to experience it, and I am happy knowing that I can be a part of something like that again. And I will.

Have you ever had a similar experience? Something that made you feel connected to complete strangers; part of a whole?

If not, you will. Happy Friday, Happy People!

❤ The Roamin Twin

Leave a Reply

