Intimidation vs. Motivation

What intimidates you?

That was probably an easy question to answer. Everyone has at least ONE thing that intimidates them. Is it motorcycles? Your work/school rival? The mere idea of CrossFit?

Now, answer me this: WHY does this thing/things intimidate you?

Fear? Jealousy? Inadequacy?

Well, ladies and gentlemen, yesterday I decided to take something that has always intimidated me and turn it into motivation…

ESPN Magazine: The Body Issue (find this year’s photographs HERE)

Every year until now I have avoided this. Why? Because I personally have had body issues. Those athletes with their god-like physiques intimidate the HELL out of me. They make me feel more inadequate than I feel on a daily basis, and that is pretty damn bad. Pure muscle. Pure beauty. Pure talent. Pure poise.

All things I wish I had.

This year, I am taking a different perspective on this. I looked the the photographs once, and will continue to every time I need a pick-me-up, or motivation to work harder, eat healthier, and try new things. These athletes are grateful for their bodies, therefore they take care of them. It is time I did the same, instead of falling into this self-loathing crap.

Now I’m going to look up the healthiest food I can eat at the restaurant I am going to tonight. It’s a start, right?

What are YOU going to do to face what intimidates you?

❤ The Roamin Twin

2 thoughts on “Intimidation vs. Motivation

  1. Great idea, Roamin! 😉

    In order to make progress, we must take it one step at a time. So congrats to you for ‘starting’!

    I just finished reading The Slight Edge; this book changed my life! It gave me the encouragement I needed to make daily steps towards creating the life I want, the body I want, the mind I want, and so much more. I highly recommend it!

    • I think my mom has that book and I shall borrow it! Thank you so much for the suggestion, for stopping by, and for the sweet comment! I love when people feel open enough to communicate with me and get involved in their own happiness/health as well 🙂 Have a Happy Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

