Coming Clean

You read it right. I am coming clean with the biggest secret – and not-so-secret – of my life. This is a confession to start anew. It is a confession to seek forgiveness for what I have done. It is a confession to you, God, and the whole world.

But first, I had to tell my fiance. I had to sit down with the most loving, caring, all-around best candidate for a husband EVER, and admit something I never wanted to hear come out of my own mouth.

Me: “It makes my stomach hurt. Like, a sharp pain, telling me to stop doing this to myself.”

Timmykins: “Well, maybe that is your body’s way of telling you to stop.”

Damnit, ice cream! Why are you DOING this to me?!?!

I have loved you for so long. Your variety of flavors have accompanied me through the different stages of my life. You come in different forms – shakes, malts, cones, cups – and I love you no matter what. I worked at a frozen custard shop as my first job to spend more time with you. I have loved you for dinner, dessert, and – shamefully – even breakfast a time or two. Yes, I have loved you forever. And THIS is how you repay me?

How could you betray me like this?

Sitting in the Sonic parking lot this hot summer evening marks at LEAST the fourth time sharp pains have emanated from the mixture of dairy, sugar, and RoaminTwin-brand stomach acid. I can’t take it anymore.

I am calling it quits on this 23-year-old love affair.

I may sneak a bite of you from time to time. But you have stood between me and who I want to be for far too long, and now you are physically hurting me to let me know it’s time to let go.

Do I regret this last tryst? No. It let me know that I was definitely making the right decision.

ice cream
In 2011 eating ice cream…in the snow.

There is no more room for you in this heart of mine, anyways. Timmykins has taken all the space [Full House music playing in the background].

What love affairs have you had to let go of for your own health and wellness? Have you bettered yourself recently?

❤ The RoaminTwin

4 thoughts on “Coming Clean

  1. Erin, I had the exact same issue my entire life. Then…I went gluten free…and guess what? I have enjoyed a blissful, pain and agony-free reunion with ice cream ever since! No joke! There is hope… 😉

    • Ahhhhh that is nuts! Well, we are on what I will call a nice long break for now. Couldn’t have come at a better time. I am really challenging myself to get healthy!

  2. Erin, I am in love with analogies and love your post! haha…. my affair is with carbs – if I had to choose between carbs and a lover… for the rest of my life… well, I’d have to think about it!

    • Lol as much as I hated the final straw realization-and probably will NEVER come to terms with it-I had to balance that out in my writing. Otherwise the experience could have ended with me saying “eff it” and binging on MORE carbs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

