One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to [bind] them…

I know I have to choose happiness in order to feel it, so I write this blog as a daily reminder to be happy. For myself. That is why – as mushy and self-centered as it sounds – today I am going to write about my engagement ring. Because it makes me happy. And why not?

I have always loved sparkling things. In high school I was known for my gaudy rings. More recently, I received a necklace as a gift with a pear-shaped jewel in the middle, and that became my favorite cut: dainty, and classic/a little British-looking (later confirmed by some Brits I know–yay!).

The first conversation Timmykins and I had on the phone, we both indicated how much we adore old school style, and wish we could go back in time to the 20s-40s just to witness the style, dancing, music, and history. It was the first thing we really connected on, and it was such a unique thing for two people to have in common.

Fast Forward

2 months ago, My Precious Timmykins got down on one knee on the beach in San Diego. It was wanted more than anything, but came at a time when I least expected it. And, despite its imperfections, it was PERFECT.

I would have been the happiest girl in the world with ANY ring from this boy. I would have been fine even with a piece of wire bent into a circle or a string. But he knows me, he knows what I like, he knows us.

Image

Timmykins presented me with a GORGEOUS ring: pear-cut center diamond, diamond halo, double strands of diamonds on either side; 59 in all! Though it is big, it isn’t giant and gaudy, which is lovely. What you can’t see in this picture is the amazing filigree and diamond detail on the top and bottom edges of the ring. This is something that kind of feels like a secret to me, because no one else notices that detail until I take the ring off to show them. The jeweler later told us that this was a style popularized in 1920s Hollywood.

Ding Ding Ding! We have a WINNER!

Not only did he know what I like, he did it all on his own AND came out with a design that he couldn’t be happier with. It is so us, and will always remind me of our first phone conversation!

It is magnificent, and I adore it more and more every day. It makes me happy to look down and admire the sparkle on my left ring finger. Because even when Timmykins isn’t with me, it reminds me of how wonderful this life is, and how every day will be a happier one by his side.

Thanks for letting me gush. #lucky girl

❤ The Roamin Twin

3 thoughts on “One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to [bind] them…

Leave a Reply

