Rest & It’s Opposite: Decision-Making

OK, so you know how I joked about yesterday–being the 7th day in the Blog Challenge–should have been the day of rest?

Well, I was wrong: TODAY was the scheduled day of rest! How about that?

So, I will take that scheduled rest in stride while still writing about happiness. Because that is what I do, and we all need a little reminder, right?

Yesterday my patience, dreams, and waistline were put to the test. Wedding dress shopping was overwhelming. I am not one who loves to go shopping for hours, nor do I like to try on clothing. The lighting in the fitting rooms is such so that every flaw is accentuated, and every outfit makes you look like the Michelin Man.

It probably didn’t help that I was tired as all get out. For some reason my mind was racing the night before with excitement and so many ideas. I MAYBE got 3.5 hours of sleep. Maybe.

But, through the clouds of white tulle, pile of dresses stacked to the ceiling (literally), and accessory after accessory of eye-catching sparkle, I came out of it with:

1. An open mind – dress styles I NEVER thought would look good on me, I can pull off. This does not make me stray fully from the ideas in my head, so that is good.

2. I am looking much more svelte these days! I thought my biggest challenge would be fitting into the sample dresses. Instead, my biggest challenge was that, even though I am fine with adding embellishments to a less frilly dress, it is really difficult to picture it all put together when you have the simple gown on. And, as I continue to slim down, it is also hard to want to pull the trigger on ordering a dress size 8 months in advance knowing that I will have to spend another few hundred $$ to have it resized. But, hey! I found proof that my healthy habits are paying off!

3. I just want to marry Timmykins. Every time I tried on a new dress, I had him in mind. Not what I would look like in the pictures, not what made me look the skinniest. I could only picture his face. Which makes it a little more difficult because he loves me in everything, and I can’t make a damn decision to save my life.

Am I expecting tears or just KNOWING that I found THE dress? Not at all. I wish it would happen, but I didn’t even cry when we got engaged. And I KNOW he is the one.

How are YOU on decision-making? Does it come easily for you? Can you teach me your ways? What kind of decisions – big or small – have you had to make recently?

Have a Happy Happy Day, Happy People!

❤ The RoaminTwin

Leave a Reply

