Blog Challenge: Day 23

Ohhhhh GOODY! Day 23 is here, meaning ONE WEEK LEFT! I have said it before and I will say it again: This has been SO MUCH FUN! I am happy just thinking about all I have accomplished with these challenge prompts–and outside of these challenge prompts–since I began. I hope to instill more challenges in my life from here on out to get me out of my comfort zone and into a productive, life-changing zone!

If you have no idea what this Blog Challenge is, or want to join in on the fun, start HERE!

Enjoying the Blog Challenge material? Stop by my twin sister’s BLOG! We are answering the same questions separately to see how similar our answers are! Do YOURS match any of ours?

Prompt Day 23: What’s your level of location independence and your nomadic quotient?
In other words, how “homeless” can I be, and what are the factors that lead me to that conclusion?

A: When I was younger, I would collect things: rocks, key chains, pens, post cards, Beanie Babies…

As I have gotten older, I have noticed the frivolity of this practice and have stopped collecting things other than pictures and memories (for the most part). Do I still have my collections? All but the rocks. And a few writing utensils that I have used up. The good thing is, these habits weren’t for large, space-taking items, and my propensity to collect ended well before adulthood. But alas, I am a photographer at heart, and am so happy I live in a digital age, because there is no way on this planet that I would be able to keep a collection of prints of EVERY SINGLE PHOTOGRAPH I have ever taken.

All of this is a round-about way of saying that I could already be pretty location independent. At this time in my life, I think I could even be the highest level of location independent. I have so much of the world to explore, and I don’t have a huge collection of things that I am attached to and need to the extent of needing a home base. Would I use my parents’ house for storage? Absolutely! The good thing is, my stuff doesn’t take up much space. Then, off I would go to a different country whenever I would feel like it with my computer, some clothes, toiletries and other necessities in hand (I am a light packer as it is, so this wouldn’t be difficult). Oh, and I guess I should pack my fiance. He might not like me gallivanting around the world without him. One of the good things about us is that we both want to travel and have a drive for exploration…you could call us Lewis and Clark or something!

After a few years of this, I think I could settle into the second-highest level of location independence. I could see myself having a home base and traveling for bigger blocks of time in the future. This would be much more conducive to raising children in the same school system (or two), giving them a sense of normalcy and routine while also the adventure that I yearn for. Let me tell you: I don’t plan on living vicariously through anyone but myself. And, I want my kids to know that they don’t have to wait until they are retired and less able to do things to do them.

These ideas and wishes seem more and more realistic every day. Oh BOY I just can’t WAIT (…to be king…)!

If you had freedom to be location independent, what would you do with that power?

❤ The RoaminTwin

30daychallenge

Leave a Reply

