Great Expectations

Hello, Happy People!

Today, I am going to talk about something that I might have a bit of a problem with: setting clear expectations. I am a pretty free-flowing type of person, so my flexibility provides ample space for things to go differently than expected. Plus, I can’t make a decision to save my life, so solid planning and expectations are more stressful to me than things not going as anticipated.

I guess I am not the only one.

Now, I adore my clients. I love that they come to me for important projects in their lives: from wedding videos to family portraits, event planning and more. But, from now on, I am going to ask one thing of not only my clients, but myself: let’s all set clear expectations. Because sometimes, as much as I expect out of myself in the creation of these nuggets of happiness, others may expect different.

Right now, I am working on a wedding video to be shown at a reception this weekend. Communication has been a little hazy (with the client out of town, pictures across different states, and the general hubbub surrounding a wedding in all of its glory), and I was unable to get all of the materials together until this past weekend. The only expectation I set for this? We usually ask that we get all of the materials at least 3 weeks in advance for ample time to perfect. But we will make it work.

And, I can make it work. But not without stress, late nights, and the ever-popular ‘shoulda-woulda-couldas’.

What I do is too important not to perfect, not to stress over. As I said before: I always expect the most out of myself, and much to my detriment.  I just know that from now on, when first speaking with a client, the VERY first thing that will happen is a clear set up of expectations from both sides. When it comes to things like this, I can’t just throw in the towel, and I am always willing to help someone in a bind. So, the conversation will probably begin with: here are my expectations for perfection, and here are my “Oh Sh*t!” expectations, for last minute clients.

Right now, I am working with perfection expectations on an Oh Sh*t! timeline. Neither party was clear, and this is a good learning experience (see that positive spin, there?).

So, Happy People, when it comes to ANYTHING from business transactions to interactions with family and friends: make clear your expectations. People can’t work off of I-don’t-knows. If we all can communicate a little better how we want an outcome, the world would be a happier place.

And, isn’t that just lovely?

❤ The RoaminTwin

list1

One thought on “Great Expectations

  1. Good point! I’ve also recently realized that I shouldn’t tell people there’s no set deadline on something when I need to get something done. People unintentionally put things on the back burner, thus risking getting tasks done on time.

Leave a Reply

