Playing Dress Up

Hello, Splendid, Happy People!

I must admit: I was going to write about something completely different today. Maybe even opposite of what I AM writing about. But I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to share with you a joy that I don’t often partake in at this point in my life. That joy is playing dress up.

Last night, I decided to pick out my outfit for today. Usually, I throw something together when I wake up, but since a video project I was working on for a client was still rendering, I thought: What the hay? As I sifted through the dresses and sweatshirts hanging in my closet (the majority of the clothing I own), I found a dress at the back that I haven’t seen for AGES! It is all sequined gold and silver, very 20s flapper. I got it in high school for a dance and never wore it. Until today, only my sister wore it for a sorority function.

I decided I was going to wear it, but I wanted to dress it down a bit. So I found a flowy tank and thrift shop blazer to wear over it, along with some nude heels. Though I toned it down, I am still FEELIN’ FANCY! I even added a pearl bracelet and the blazer is a little ill-fitting, making making me feel the ensemble came right out of my parents’ closet.

This is a post about a totally minuscule thing in my life. But that minuscule thing makes me happy beyond belief. It is a spark in my week. Plus, I feel like everything these days is too casual, so why not spice it up a bit with an evening dress at work? Am I right?

Challenge: dress up for one day of work in the next week. Note how you feel. Is it a bit of pride and happiness in an area of your life where you normally would feel indifferent? FIGHT THE INDIFFERENCE! CHOOSE HAPPINESS!

❤ The RoaminTwin

Hey! That’s ME! I took the below picture a few moments ago to send to Timmykins. Sorry for the poor quality, and eye-sore of editing skills on top of that. I wanted to get this all together and scheduled to post before heading to work! I was just SO excited! I promise that from now on, I will create images that are much more put-together for you all. Happy Thursday!

dressup2

One thought on “Playing Dress Up

  1. I love your idea! I did something similar my last week of classes during college. I wore floor length gown for the first couple days and then my two suits. It’s fun to wear suits to work occasionally too. I hope you had fun rocking your awesome outfit!

Leave a Reply

