Giving Thanks

November is an OK month. It sits between my two favorites – October for the fall foliage and December for none other than CHRISTMAS – acting as a breather, a break. It is the birth month of one of my FABULOUS coworkers (I’m talking to YOU, Riley!), and this year it marks the first wedding anniversary of two of my best friends’.

Alright, maybe it’s sounding MORE than OK this year. This year I will ALSO see some of my favorite people – from both in AND out-of-town – for quick trips and my BRIDALLLLLLLL SHOWERRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!

– I hope you read that like Oprah used to on her yearly Favorite Things episode. Which I will forever be upset I never made it to –

With so many things going on from year to year (not just this CRAZY November), it is nice to sit down, breathe, and be thankful. Each year around this time, I see more people participating in ’25 Days of Thanks’, or things similar in nature on Facebook and other social media. It is a good way to hold oneself accountable – as this crazy blog is for me – but is it phenomenalizing the act of thanking someone publicly so as to make oneself look more appealing in the public eye?

I think this is true for some, but would like to think that the majority of people participating really did just need a reminder in this season of thanks.

I just wish it were customary to thank people on a regular basis. In person, or at least more personally.

It has already been ingrained in me to write thank you notes after receiving gifts. Not the general: “Thank you. This is neat. Love, ME”, but more thought out and carefully planned. If I receive money or a gift card, I let the person know what it will be used for. If it is a physical gift, I let them know how useful it will be in my personal or professional life. I thank them for their continued support of me, my dreams, and their presence in my life. I do all I can to let them know that what they do doesn’t go unnoticed.

This is a custom that my sister (and business partner) and I have carried into our side project, DoubleTake Productions. After we complete editing on a project, we think back to working with the client(s) and send a handwritten thank you note along with the final project. It’s not for notoriety nor a strong reputation (though those come along with it), but because we are genuinely thankful that people are choosing to work with us – to put their memories in our hands.

I challenge you to do the same. Have a coworker that is just doing an outstanding job? Let them know in person or with a thank you note. Someone hold the door for you? A quick thank you and a smile are always polite. Are your wedding vendors going above and beyond in accommodating your perfect day? A nice note and a tip or a small gift are more than generous.

Note: a gifted bottle of champagne doesn’t hurt in any of these situations. Though, I would be hard-pressed to have any handy to gift to the person holding a door for me. Sorry, person-holding-the-door-for-me.

Do YOU accept the challenge to personalize your gratitude a little more, outside of the “25 days of thanks” or the month of November?

I do.

❤ The RoaminTwin

Image

Leave a Reply

