I Love You

Good Morning, Happy People!

I know that if I were following the calendar correctly, today would be Happy Tweets Monday. I have plenty of those in store for you, but I would like to cut into our regularly scheduled programming to write about what matters most to me: love.

I’m not necessarily talking about the lovey-dovey, butterflies and hand-holding love (though I don’t complain about it), but instead that strong bond that is felt between family, friends, and friends that become family.

We lost a friend this weekend. It was sudden, and I could go on and on about how unfair it was, and how it happened too soon, but I won’t. Any death is too soon in my book. And nothing will justify it. It is time to remember our friend for who he was and who he will continue to be in our lives and our memories. We spent most of yesterday with a close-knit group of friends that I haven’t seen in awhile, and this is definitely not the reason I would want us to come together. I couldn’t put words together about how much all of these people mean to me until last evening:

Not only will I be marrying into a great family, but I am marrying into a wonderful family of friends who are so full of love, support, and care for one another. They have already welcomed me with open arms, and I only hope I am helping add to the support they need in this difficult time, and whenever they need it going forward. 

I know many thoughts will envelope my mind over the next few days as I process everything, but there are a few things that make me smile a bit (besides the funny and wonderful memories of our friend):

– Though it was for a short time, he was able to marry the love of his life

– That his family and friends were around him that same evening celebrating his marriage

– That my wonderful Tim was able to talk to his friend and congratulate him

– That this young man did anything and everything for the people he loved, and how I would love to be more like him in this area of my life

– How, no matter which story or memory of our friend comes to mind, it is always accompanied by a smile

Starting yesterday, every hug has been a little longer and tighter. Every hello and goodbye attached to an “I Love You”. And I hope to continue this. I want to challenge everyone to say “I Love You” as much as possible when that is how they feel. It may be implied between family and old friends, but the warmth that spreads and the friendships that continue to blossom when it is said makes every moment one better lived.

❤ The RoaminTwin

Image
A gift we received from our friend & his lovely wife on Saturday evening before he passed early Sunday.

Leave a Reply

