My Best Friend & My Worst Enemy: #4 FOOD

A little over a week ago, I told you about 2014 being MY Year of the “F” Word. A day later, I dove into “F” Word #1, and the meaning of it’s placement in my life in 2014. Next, I explained why I included The BIGGEST “F” Word of them ALL: FAMILY (because they are kind of a big deal). #3 on my list to hash out was Finances (the hashing out that will last for all of eternity). And now, we are down to the final “F” Word (besides fun and future, which are both considered in my thoughts and progress towards the other “F” Words). What next?

Disclaimer: As mentioned in my first post on the subject, my “F” Words are not listed in terms of relevance to me, and neither will they be explained in any particular order.

#4: Food

I need to change my views on food, and 2014 is a great place to start! I have had little glimpses of this insight before…right before chowing down on a really good burger, or licking my fingers clean of barbeque sauce. What? There are 3 desserts? One of each please!

I’ve gone through bouts of counting calories, of attempting to cut entire food groups out of my diet, I’ve thought about dieting and cleansing, and all that jazz. More and more I have heard that food intake has the biggest affect on a person’s weight. 

Well, that is not all.

In figuring out how I want each “F” Word to apply in my life, I have not only been experimenting and trying new things in all areas, but also reading up on all of them: devouring as much information as possible to make informed decisions. I follow numerous health professionals via Twitter, Facebook, and email chains. I read their articles, their mantras, their “guaranteed-to-lose-weight” fitness routines and eating plans. If I could share with you the overarching lesson it would be this:

Every body is different, therefore, not every body is the same.

“Running makes you lose weight fast.” “No, cutting calories does! But you can eat what you want within those calorie limits!” “An apple a day…” “Do you even life, Bra?”

ENOUGH!

Every person is so unique in personality, in physical traits, in how their bodies react to different foods and exercises, that, truly, each person needs to experiment with both to see what works for them.

Over the years I have cut some foods out of my every day life. Doing so has had no effect on my weight…not even soda! For some people, cutting soda alone would make them lose 20 pounds. More recently, I have been cutting down on even fruits, cottage cheese, milk, and whole grain bread. In fact, once I run out of each of these things in my home, I am going to stop buying them for a bit. Maybe these seemingly healthy items have been keeping me at a heavier weight my entire life. That doesn’t mean they aren’t healthy, that just might mean they aren’t right for me on a regular basis. I will continue my experimentation and research until I find something that works for me.

But keep in mind: this isn’t a once-in-a-lifetime experiment. As we grow and change, so too do our taste buds. So why wouldn’t food problems, allergies, etc. do the same? This experiment is really something I will be doing my whole entire life. And just because I pinpoint that sugar isn’t good for me (it really isn’t good for ANYBODY), doesn’t mean I will never have it. I have the BIGGEST sweet tooth, and am trying to wean myself from that tendency now. But I would be fine with a piece of dark chocolate or anything my mom bakes every once in awhile (and ice cream, ice cream, ice cream! Even though I realized it wreaks havoc on my stomach when I eat it a few times a week).

I also will no longer be looking at food as a reward. I will leave food rewards for my dog to earn. There is no reason for me to go to the gym and sweat my butt off for 1-2 hours a day, only to say “I’ve earned a sweet treat!” and undo everything. Oh, and portion control? Now a practice instead of just an idea. No need to over-indulge on every meal, I know when to stop, I have that control. Calorie counting? No reason when I know the majority of things entering my body are being put there for nourishment instead of just “I wants”. 

Because food makes my body run. Bad food makes it run poorly (fatigue, poor sleep quality, illness, punky moods, etc.), while clean, simple foods make it a well-oiled machine. This well-oiled machine gets me to the gym nearly every morning AND evening, as well as staying alert and active throughout the day. Being alert and active throughout the day keeps me in tune to my finances (in making plans, following through on plans, and thinking things up that I wouldn’t be able to on a regular basis). Being alert for the rest of the day keeps me in tune with my relationships (family), and being healthy will keep me around for them for a very long time.

2014 is THE Year of the “F” Word: Family, Finances, Fitness, & Food. They all come together to guarantee a Fun & Fruitful Future.

What is 2014 going to be for you? Have you already set out on the path to betterment? Join me!

Happy Thursday, Happy People!

❤ The RoaminTwin
Image

Leave a Reply

