Appreciation in Rejection

RoaminTwin, are you NUTS? Am I reading that title correctly?

Yes, indeedy, you are! You know that last post I wrote about GRATITUDE (and the positive effect it has had in my life, and the happiness it could bring to YOURS)?? Welp, this goes right along with that!

I have resolved to take more risks in this short life-o-mine! No, Not death-defying risks like jumping off a cliff unharnessed (OK, I wouldn’t be defying much of ANYTHING if I were in THAT situation). Instead, I want to take adventurous risks: traveling to new places, attempting ice skating tricks without fearing a spill or two, risking my ego to build upon my experience and educate myself further.

There are so many risks to take, I couldn’t name them all if I had the time! But with the resolution to take more risks also comes the resolution to accept the outcome–good or bad–to learn from and grow. This means not just not fearing rejection, but appreciating it. Get rejected by a prospective job? Take a look at your resume, your online presence, how you present yourself in person and on paper. Evaluate, grow, and get back on the saddle!

At this point, I am looking forward to the rejection as a form of constructive criticism, not a roadblock. As long as you are growing and changing, rejection will come. Everything depends on how you handle said rejection. Rejection is also a down time, with a built in guarantee that something better is on the horizon.

What do you take away from rejection? Is there a shift in your thinking? Can YOU find the happiness that can arrive with rejection?

Happy Friday, Happy People!

❤ The RoaminTwin

Image

3 thoughts on “Appreciation in Rejection

  1. I have kept every online rejection I have ever received and every now and then I reread them. Maybe I’ve been lucky but all of them include constructive criticism and insights. I value and appreciate every rejection letter that is not a standard one-line rejection.

    • My dad taught me to do the same! Not only that, but those rejection letters – people telling me NO and that I can’t – just fuel the fire! I would love to use them as almost awards later down the road that I came from this type of rejection, but look where I am now! 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

