And It Is Perfect.

Standing in front of the 40 or so people at mine and Timmykin’s rehearsal dinner, I didn’t know what to say. I wanted to thank each person individually for all they have done for myself and for TImmykins as individuals and as a couple. I wanted to thank each of them for all that they had done for our big day. I wanted to let them each know how much I loved them. But I didn’t have anything prepared.

Honestly, I thought the words would come naturally, especially with this small group.

And at first, they didn’t. But then I thought of something that I could express to them all without being too wordy, or forgetful, or taking up the remainder of their evening. So I told them:

I have lived in Sacramento. I have lived in San Diego. I have lived in Kansas City. Through it all, I have always thought and said one thing: If I could be surrounded by the people I love, it doesn’t matter where I live. And here I am, with all of you. And it is perfect.

Of course, there was more said – after choking up and crying a bit – but that is the most important thing I could tell any of them. Regardless of their participation in the preparation and wedding itself, they are the people I love. Basically, who I would be OK being stranded on a deserted island with (I know it wouldn’t be without conflict, but I would choose them anyway 🙂 ).

Not everyone could join us this weekend, but I am oh-s-grateful for those who could. I just realize that it was as close to perfection as it could be.

Regardless of what I write regarding the wedding and all of its glory in the next days and weeks, if I could give anyone one piece of advice: appreciate all of the love and support around you on that day. It is the only time that all of those supporters will be in one room…supporting you.

It’s what I thought as I stood at the beginning stretch of the aisle walking into the church. All that stood between Timmykins and I besides this empty aisle were the people we know and love. The people who understand us, who love us, and who came to witness us at our happiest. Not only was it my day to shine in the most beautiful dress I will ever own, it was my day to thank those people that we love and to revel in their love towards us. Even those who couldn’t make it, I could feel them there in spirit.

Isn’t that just a beautiful thought? And one that has brought me to tears multiple times.

 

I would like to publicly acknowledge my family for all that they did in preparation (and in raising me, of course!):

My sister, my MOH. She stepped in and helped with so much! From bachelorette parties, to shopping, to putting together a lovely gift from the bridesmaids. She made our slideshow video, and put together a tear-inducing “Sorry-we-couldn’t-be-there” video from some of my favorites. She took care of me through the emotional ups and downs, and even split the duty with me of doing my hair and makeup! Of course there is so much more that she did, but I couldn’t begin to list it all here. Basically, she is the best person I could have wanted to be my sister or MOH.

My wonderful mother. She took the reigns on cookie and cake making (thousands of cookies, all of the wedding cakes!), she read our general intentions for us (another tear-jerker during the ceremony), she took me dress shopping and made seemingly thousands of trips to craft stores far and wide to find some of the perfect things for me. She fussed about making it the perfect day for me, and did so much, and I just love her for it!

My dad. First of all, he didn’t scare Timmykins off when asking for my hand in marriage. But he also did so many things, including last-minute runs to pick up 1,000 donut holes for the reception, chocolate covered tuxedo strawberries that I have wanted on my wedding day since I was a little girl, having a backup video camera (which was needed and GREATLY appreciated), and giving the most splendid father-of-the-bride toast I have ever heard – dropping a little knowledge along the way. Did I mention he was the best dance partner for our father/daughter dance? He always has been, and always will be 🙂

I guess I could thank my brother, too. 🙂 He makes me smile every day, and he gave me the strongest hug after the ceremony that I will always remember. That kid is growing up into an awesome, caring, and motivated young person!

I only hope that I can share the love and support that my family has given me, and will continue to give me, throughout the years.

Just revel in it, Happy People. Revel in it 🙂

❤ The RoaminTwin
Image
My beautiful family 🙂 PS-GOTTA love photobooths!

One thought on “And It Is Perfect.

Leave a Reply

