Falling Off The Wagon…and getting back up because I CAN

Over the last yearish, I have lost 25 pounds.

It wasn’t consistent. The first 15 wasn’t really on purpose. It wasn’t until my wedding was coming up that I cracked down on those last 10 (never intending for it to be the last 10 that I will ever lose).

I have always been overweight. And that has been OK with me. I was never fully happy with myself, but I have never hated myself. It wasn’t until I was sitting 25 pounds lighter and looking back at pictures from the end of college that I realized: I NEVER want to go back. And by “go back”, I am referring to my previous weight, not college 🙂

Well, the wedding came and went, and guess what? I have gained about 3 pounds back. Those little boogers were so much more difficult to take off than they were to come back! All those years, sitting in my comfort zone, they didn’t bother me THAT much, but they have become the bane of my existence! And the thing is, I only notice them on the scale!

But, truth be told, I haven’t been as active since the wedding. Some of this is from burnout (I was the Energizer Bunny the last month or so before the wedding, and my body was TIRED), some from the fact that my main workout buddy, Timmykins, broke his collarbone as a 1 week wedding anniversary present to me 😛 Oh, and leftover wedding goodies, as well as birthday desserts (4 birthdays in the family within a week of one another). But I have been lazy as well, and I am mad at myself for it.

I am grateful every day for my newer-found love of seeking to learn new things (because schooling isn’t the end-all be-all). Today, I am especially grateful, because I ran across THIS ARTICLE. Its author – Kelly Coffey – lost 150 pounds and has kept it off. What struck me the most is that she didn’t hate her fat, and has loved her body at every stage. She suggests writing 5 things you love about yourself in order to appreciate your body and all it does for you – no matter shape, size, or age.

So, here I go, as unapologetic as possible, praising my body with my own “5 Things”:

1. My body is the vessel that takes me on all of my adventures, big or small. 

2. My body is my only one true and forever home.

3. I love my own strength. I am a very very strong woman.

4. I appreciate my extremely able body. This wonderful, awe-inspiring work of art that protects my soul and helps me show the world who I am.

5. I love the white hairs and the crinkles around my eyes. I don’t look down on aging, but look forward to aging gracefully 🙂

It’s time for me to work out and eat well as much as possible. Not because I hate my body, but because I love it. Because I care about it. Without it, there would be no me.

What are YOUR “5 Things”?

❤ The RoaminTwin

Image

Leave a Reply

