Wedding Wednesday #3: Theme Time!

You’re Engaged! And you have at least thought about the People & Party! So, this week we continue Wedding Wednesdays with #3: Theme Time!

What the heck am I talking about?

The main point of every wedding is defined (you know, marriage), but I had a theme in mind for nearly the entire engagement to tie everything together into a cohesive, comprehensible idea.

The theme for mine and Timmykin’s wedding: These Are a Few of Our Favorite Things.

Not only is the a title of a song in – my favorite – The Sound of Music, but it also represents in the most fantastical way the personalization of our big day. Which was a big deal to me.

If you have NO IDEA what kind of theme you are looking for, you could either start with colors OR you can ask yourself the following:

What 3 words would you use to describe your wedding?

This question wasn’t asked of us until about a month prior to our wedding by our DJ. And I thought it was brilliant, so I wanted to present it to you earlier in your planning process! My response to this particular question was: classic, whimsical, and personalized. Our original theme completely aligns with these!

In following posts, you will find how we threaded this theme – and these descriptive words – throughout our big day.

There are so many theme options: from video games, to a favorite song or movie, to even a career! But if I can give you one piece of advice, it would be to personalize as much of the day as possible to the two of you. Not only will it show people who you are as a couple, but it will bring the two of you together in the planning process in an entirely new way. I am not saying go completely nontraditional, but challenge yourselves not to just follow the trends and include things just for the grand traditional wedding’s sake.

And, if you need any help, let me know!

❤ The RoaminTwin

PS – Excuse my potential hiatus for the next couple of weeks as I focus on my husband and adventure on our HONEYMOON! I am hoping that our trip will bring with it some interesting content to share, all in due time! When I come back, expect a post or two on Personalization & DIY for YOUR WEDDING!
ImageImageA sneak peak of some personalization in our table decorations!

 

Leave a Reply

