Wedding Wednesday #5: 4 Qs EVERY Bride Must Ask Herself To Find THE Gown!

Oh my goodness, it has been just short of a year since I originally posted on the fact that I Found The Gown! Isn’t it crazy how fast time flies?

Well, in the original post, I wrote about the process and the joy that finding THE dress of my dreams brought me, but I didn’t include a picture for fear of the off-chance that my now-husband would view that particular post. Today’s post will reveal the 4 questions every bride must ask herself to find the perfect dress. Yes, it’s THAT easy! First, a little lead-in…

At some point during our courtship, I asked dear Timmykins what type of dress he could see me walking down the aisle in. I am sure that some of your significant others would respond with a simple: Uh, I see a dress, and it’s white! Well, lucky me married someone with 5 older sisters, and he knows a little bit about fashion (both the good and the ugly). He told me he could see me in something classic and elegant. He couldn’t picture me in something strapless, and he liked the look of lace. Of course, he added, you will look beautiful in anything.

Aw, shucks!

Some of you may not take your fiance’s thoughts on a dress into consideration for a multitude of reasons, but the best part is, everything that he said aligned with what I had in mind. I wanted something unique that could also have been worn decades ago, with lace, cap sleeves, and lots of dreamy, airy tulle. I also preferred off-white, because who wants a dress that compromises the appearance of their teeth? 

I kept all of these ideas in mind as I embarked on my great dress adventure, but also remembered the advice I had read and heard a multitude of times that you should try a little of everything on because you could be surprised with what you like.

For instance: I tried on a figure-hugging, strapless dress; something I wouldn’t have picked off the rack in a million years! But, boy did it make me look and feel GOOD! However, I asked myself the 4 questions every bride should ask themselves below, and it was a no-go.

Here are THE questions that every bride should ask herself to find the perfect gown:

1. Do I feel beautiful?
2. Do I feel comfortable?
3. Is it in my price range?
4. Did I walk out of the dressing room smiling, grooving, and twirling?

Now, picture your fiance’s face as he sees you for the first time. I bet you are picturing the biggest grin, and maybe tears!

Doesn’t matter if it fits your original vision, or what you would expect from yourself. If you answered YES to all of the above, then congratulations, you have a winner! THIS is what you will be wearing on one of the happiest days of your life…aren’t you ecstatic??

BONUS TIP: Might I suggest also letting the bridesmaid(s) choose their own dresses? Pick a color, maybe a couple of guidelines, and let them answer those 4 questions on their own! 

❤ The RoaminTwin

Leave a Reply

