Wedding Wednesday #6: D(AAO)IY

You are probably thinking: What the HECK is D(AAO)IY?!?!

D(AAO)IY = Do Almost All Of It Yourself.

Let’s face it, you can’t do EVERYTHING yourself, and what can’t be done yourself, we already know can be done by the very BEST VENDORS. Just make sure you do plenty of research ahead of time, and always talk to friends and family to see if they rub elbows with any vendors for discounts!

Let’s get back to business: so you say you want to D(AAO)IY? Welp, so did I, so you came to the right place! Over the next couple of Wedding Wednesday posts, I will go over what we did ourselves.

This week, let’s cover bride and bridesmaid outfits/accessories.

1. The Veil. Veils range from around $200-2,000!! That is a heck of a lot if you ask me, especially when I only wanted to wear my veil for the ceremony and a few pictures! So, my mom and I went down to a specialty bridal store and picked out some of the prettiest beaded and embroidered tulle with a lace edge. With that, my mom made a Cathedral length veil with a blusher that touched just below my shoulders. Beautiful.

2. The Garter. For years I have been eyeing this handmade lace that my grandmother gave to my mom when she was cleaning out her basement (something we think my great-grandmother tatted). When my mom received it, it was dirty and tattered, but she had since cleaned and rolled it neatly where it sat waiting to be used in her closet. So, I asked if we could use a small portion for my garter. Mom made me a wonderful vintage garter with blue ribbon for my something old AND blue!
Garter

3. The Bouquet. I always wanted something a little less traditional. For at least a year before the wedding, My favorite holiday is Christmas, and I had this idea that gold Christmas ornaments of different sizes and textures would look lovely as a bouquet. So, I bought the ornaments on sale around Christmastime and waited until about a week before the wedding (procrastination at it’s best, of course) before using THIS tutorial that I happened upon to make my own version. It couldn’t have turned out any better – and I didn’t have to spend a fortune on fresh flowers that die within a couple of days!
BridalBouquet

4. Bridesmaids. I told the ladies from the get go: please wear white flats and find a champagne/gold dress that makes you look and feel good. As their gifts, I got them all matching earrings, bracelets, and sequined wristlets. As bouquets, they each got a large single fake white hydrangea with gold ribbon wrapped around the stem (thanks, mom)! Gotta love sales at Michaels!
BridesmaidBouquets

And last but not least…

5. Hair & Makeup. That’s right ladies and gents, the entire bridal party did our own. Mine, of course, was done with the help of my twin sister, and it stayed put ALL DARN DAY. I decided about 6 weeks before that not only did I not want to spend the ridiculous asking price for wedding hair and makeup, but that I trusted no one else.
HairnMakeup

TIP: If you are planning on having your hair and makeup done professionally, please please PLEASE pay for a consultation beforehand. I did. I showed her photos of a smokey eye and a red lip I wanted to try, as well as whimsical, loose updos that I had found on Pinterest. When she was done, I refused to leave my house it was so bad! It looked like a 5-year-old had colored outside the lines in black and red ALL OVER MY FACE! And the hair? She spent an hour straightening it and then put it in a bun with a hair tie and hairsprayed the living HELL out of it!

It was so bad that when my mom came over, I told her: I look like a drag queen. To which she responded: A drag queen would have done MUCH better! Dangit, she was right! I apologize to all drag queens!

What I sent to the “professional”:
Pinterest1 pinterest2

 

What happened in the consultation:
practice1 practice2
This is the result AFTER I rubbed off most of the eye makeup. It was PITCH black! – Obviously comparable to Rocky Horror Picture Show!

❤ The RoaminTwin

Leave a Reply

