6 Changes For YOUR Health & Future

Hello, Happy People!

It’s not often that you will find me on here during the weekend, but sometimes you are just inspired on an “off” day!

Weekends are usually the time where I can slow down a bit and reflect on the week, my life, and my progress in this happiness journey. Today, my health progress is at the forefront of my mind as I begin my day with a bottle of water, a cup of lemon grass green tea, and a serving of It Works Greens (UNSPONSORED: Find out more at Rachelle’s site HERE!). 

At the beginning of 2014, I wrote this POST about how this year is going to be the Year of the “F” Word for me: Fitness, Finances, Food, and Family. Following my wedding in March, I fell off the wagon in each of these areas, as nothing seemed more important than downtime with my new hubby (and nursing him back from a broken collar bone).

Fast forward a few months and I was spending less time with the fam, nearly broke (just because we were paying for a wedding and European honeymoon didn’t mean the bills stopped rolling in + unexpected hospital bills!), and feelin’ fat. I have never been one to think: once I am married, I can get fat and happy! Being lazy and unhealthy WOULDN’T bring me happiness, and would be a sign of disrespect towards myself AND my future. I knew I had to get back on track, so I decided that if I first focused on my health, the rest would fall into place. And wouldn’t you know that a few weeks have passed since I made this decision, and everything IS getting back on track! So many studies have shown that good health and making the decision to treat yourself with respect is the basis of a happy life, and boy am I proving them right!

On top of that, I stepped on the scale this morning for the first time in 2 1/2 weeks, and I have shed 10 pounds of weight, negative feelings, and future health problems from my body! This is a mere side effect of my healthy lifestyle – unlike my pre-wedding training – as now I am focusing on taking my body to levels of health and fitness it has never seen before. I want to learn how to do a handstand, climb mountains, and finally be able to do a freaking pull up! 

It’s time for us to find happiness in ALL aspects of our lives, don’t you think? So, I thought I would share what I am doing to reach my goals and continue onward in my Year of the F Word:

1. Lift weights. Even if you are a girl. Even if you don’t have time. It is a great way to release stress, and will show you how amazing your body really is! Plus, I think physical strength releases an inner strength in all other parts of my life! If you don’t know where to start, check out bodybuilding.com. It’s got workout and nutrition plans to fit every level and lifestyle. I find myself switching things up a lot, as well as taking the nutrition advice, but always catering to my needs and my body.

2. Make working out fun (and a priority). I schedule my 5-day-a-week lifting plan around zumba and yoga classes. I tend to lift in the mornings, and attend 1-3 classes in the evenings (depending on how my body is feeling). I also like to swim, go on walks, and ice skate. Can you tell how much I dig the cardio machines at the gym? … Move yourself in fun, new ways, and it won’t feel like a workout!

3. DON’T get hurt. Seriously. In keeping with the theme here: listen to your body. Sure I tweak my knee sometimes (it’s highly tweakable), but when I do, I cater to what my body is telling me and take it easy. If you don’t listen to your body, you run the risk of setting yourself off track for months – just ask Timmykins – or injuring yourself permanently.

4. Eat well (and eat enough)! If you are following a lifting program, please know that you should be consuming more protein as well as additional calories from healthy foods. I have been eating more chicken and fish, vegetables and beans. That sweet tooth of mine is just hangin’ in there, so you will often find me with a spoonful of peanut butter or an apple in hand. I also really enjoy finding ways to make healthy versions of my favorite foods (chicken fingers, pizza, cookies, OH MY!). And I take the It Works Greens in the morning, not as a replacement for my vegetables, but as a supplement to them. Let’s face it though: most of us don’t consume the recommended amount of fruits and vegetables per day. Greens are a pleasant way to help that along 🙂
ohmy

5. Drink water. You have been told this since the beginning of time, but you NEED water to survive. You need MORE water if you are taking part in physical activity. Feel hungry? Drink water first. Dizzy? Stop what you are doing and drink water! I have had a few dizzy spells as of late, and eating a little more as well as drinking water always quells them!

6. Forgive yourself. I feel like I am doing this more often than not. In fact, I finished typing, “…I have shed 10 pounds of weight, negative feelings, and future health problems from my body!”, then promptly got up from my computer and ate a donut. Not only did I eat that donut, I ate it slowly and enjoyed every last bite. Then I forgave myself and moved on. Because – as I remind myself every damn day – slip ups will happen. There is no need to deprive myself of something yummy if I am hungry and it is in moderation. And there is NEVER a need for self-loathing.

That brings everything back around to why I am doing this in the first place. It’s not a diet. It’s not a temporary change. It is a healthy lifestyle. And it makes me happy.

Won’t you join me?

❤ The RoaminTwin

Leave a Reply

